Admission Requirements For Philosophy In Universities 2021

This article contains WAEC and JAMB subject combination for philosophy, job opportunities for graduates and the main 2021/2022 admission requirements and Direct entry requirements plus the list of Nigeria universities offering Philosophy.

In universities we have philosophy and logic and philosophy of religion, the first one is popularly known as GST 102, but the later is the one we study as a course in different department.

Logic is the branch of philosophy that seeks to organize reasoning. Students of logic learn how to think in a structurally sound manner. We use logic in all area of philosophy.

Admission requirements for philosophy

The basic qualification for admission are as set out in the University Joint Admission and Matriculation Board brochure.

Candidates must possess at minimum of Five Credit Level passes which must Include; English Language and Mathematics in the Senior School Certificate Examination (SSCE) or General Certificate of Education (GCE) Ordinary Level or National Examination Council (NECO).

Or their equivalent(s) obtained in not more than two sittings plus acceptable scores in both JAMB/UME and the University’s Post-UTME.

For Direct Entry admission, a minimum of 2 GCE Advance Level passes in any Art, Social and Management Sciences plus 3 ordinary Level Credit passes which must include; English language and mathematics.

Diploma in related Arts, Social Science and Education courses is also acceptable.

Also read: What Is JUPEB and How Does JUPEB Work For Admission

list of Universities offering Philosophy in Nigeria

  1. Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma
  2. Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba
  3. University of Abuja, Gwagwalada
  4. Akwa Ibom State University of Technology, Uyo
  5. Augustine University
  6. University of Benin (UNIBEN)
  7. Bigard Memorial Seminary, Enugu
  8. Bowen University, Iwo
  9. Benue State University, Makurdi
  10. University of Calabar (UNICAL)
  11. Imo Claretian University (ICU)
  12. Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University, Uli
  13. Delta State University, Abraka (DELSU)
  14. Dominican University Ibadan Oyo State
  15. Dominican University Ibadan Oyo State
  16. Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki
  17. Federal University, Lafia, Nasarawa State
  18. Federal University, Ndifu-Alike, Ebonyi State (FUNAI)
  19. Federal University, Wukari, Taraba State (FUWUKARI)
  20. Fountain University, Oshogbo
  21. University of Ibadan (UI)
  22. Imo State University, Owerri (IMSU)
  23. Joseph Ayo Babalola University, Ikeji-Arakeji
  24. Kogi State University Anyigba
  25. University of Lagos (UNILAG)
  26. Madonna University, Okija
  27. National Missionary Seminary of St-Paul, Gwagwalada
  28. Niger Delta University Yenagoa (NDU)
  29. Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife (OAU)
  30. Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago Iwoye
  31. University of Port-Harcourt (UNIPORT)
  32. Pope John Major Seminary, Okpun, Awka
  33. Samuel Adegboyega University, Ogwa,
  34. Spiritan University, Nneochi Abia State
  35. Joseph Ayo Babalola University, Ikeji-Arakeji
  36. The seat of Wisdom Seminary, Owerri
  37. Tansian University, Umunya
  38. Seminary of All Saints, Uhiele-Ekpoma, Edo State
  39. Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka (UNIZIK)
  40. University of Uyo
  41. Veritas University, Abuja.

Job Opportunities

The problem solving, analytical, judgment, and synthesizing capacities philosophy develops are unrestricted in their scope and unlimited in their usefulness.

This explains why what is learned in philosophy can be applied in virtually any endeavour, hence makes philosophy especially good preparation for positions of leadership, responsibility, or administration.

A graduate of philosophy thus can easily be integrated with requirements for nearly any entry level job; more so philosophical training, particularly in it’s development of many transferable skills, is especially significant for it’s long term benefits in career advancement.

Objectives of the programme

The major aim of philosophy programme is go produce creative liberal thinkers who are highly innovative and will positively impact twenty first century society.

  • To train its beneficiaries to develop the critical habits of presuppositionlessness and reasonsled analysis.
  • To provide a thorough exposure to the core areas of philosophy: metaphysics, logic, epistemology, and Axiology, the philosophy of the infrastructure of disciplines and current trends in the development of African philosophy.
  • To provide the students with a broad sounds and solid foundation in philosophy.
  • To equip the students with adequate philosophical reasoning through a detailed and systematic exposure to the inner logical and rudiments of philosophy.

How many years is Philosophy in University

4 years, Philosophy programme of the department of Phylosophy and Religion is a four years degree course for the award of Bachelor of Arts (B. A) Honours Degree in Philosophy.

The programme is driven by the conviction that the study of philosophy has intrinsic rewards as an unlimited quest for understanding of important, challenging problems, more so that philosophy has further uses in deepening an education, both in college and in the many activities, professional and personal, that follow graduation.

What is the relationship between logic and philosophy?

Logic is the study of correct thinking, and belongs within Philosophy, which is the study of reality and the reaching of true conclusions about it.

So Philosophy requires the correct method of thought, going from the known to the unknown now known.

What others are reading:

Leave a Reply